Posted by: Ken Wheatley | August 23, 2007

Maui Day 2

I think it was on Monday that I saw a tee shirt that said, “I survived the drive to Hana.” At the time that seemed like an odd thing to put on a shirt. No one had told me about any bad roads. After today’s drive, I now know. It’s certainly not for the faint of heart. It’s about a 60 mile drive (one way) and I don’t think I got above 30 for any extended period of time. It was more like 10 to 15 miles per hour.

Having learned to drive in NY, I don’t suffer insecure drivers easily, so that added to the stress of the drive. There were some cars going so slowly that I could easily see the bolts on their tires going around!

The scenery however is absolutely breathtaking. And it’s one of those drives where the journey versus the destination is the best part. Not that Hana isn’t nice. It’s just…very mellow. Not much to see, or do. The big “attraction” seems to be the Hasegawa country store that’s been there since 1902. Run by 4 generations of the family it reminded me of a country store that I saw in Lancaster PA. That’s were I found yogurt on sale that was WAY past its expiration date. But I digress…

There are beautiful waterfalls, towering walls of plant covered rocks and deep canyons. There are quite a few viewspots and a few nooks where you can pullover and take pictures. My recommendation is to drive out to Hana in the morning and then stop at the “Kodak” picture spots on your way back in the afternoon. Plus the lighting will be better for your photos as well.

Leave a Reply

Categories

