Posted by: Ken Wheatley | March 18, 2008

Turnabout

Well, it’s a bit interesting when you have two sick people in the same household who strive to care for the other.

I’m not sure what I have – a mild flu, perhaps – but I’ve been down since the 15th. We’ve been able to sync our ups and downs to be able to care for each other. A back rub here, a foot rub there. Maybe a cup of tea, a sandwich or some fresh fruit.

One of many examples of why I love Sheila so much is what she did on Saturday. I was feeling particularly poorly – cold chills and body ache – and decided to curl up on the couch to try and sleep. We had been sitting at the kitchen table reading the paper. I was just dozing off when I felt the blanket shift and movement at the other end of the couch.

Sheila was crawling in to sit at the other end. She sat facing me with her legs on either side of me. I barely opened my eyes to see what she was doing and she was trying to quietly settle in to read and just be near me. She eventually gently tugged at my feet, pulling them toward her. Then she started rubbing them with one hand while she read.

It’s not something monumental, but her attentiveness and caring are quite something. She could have easily stayed at the table. I know for most this might seem silly, but it’s those kinds of selfless simple acts that go a long way to form a deeper bond between two people.

Especially under the circumstances. Even though she’s tired and not herself, she always uses what energy she has to tend to our relationship first.

Today was a day off for me, and I needed to do a few things, but didn’t feel up to it. So as I sat at the kitchen table wallowing in my aches and pains, Sheila came in dressed for work. I was surprised because she wasn’t feeling well when she woke up. As she kissed me goodbye and drove off I reconsidered my plight, kicked myself in the butt and got ready. With all that’s she’s dealing with, how on Earth could I sit at home?

I got everything done that I needed to and felt better for the effort. When she got home early this evening she looked really exhausted and immediately headed for the couch to nap. I felt even better that I had followed her lead this morning.

She’s sitting on the couch watching an old Cary Grant movie from 1958, “Indiscreet.” I’ve learned a lot about her movie viewing preferences since we got Netflix. I would have never pegged her for old movies and foreign films. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

