Posted by: Ken Wheatley | August 13, 2008

Haze

Wow…almost a month has passed.

I was in China (Beijing) and Japan (Tokyo) for two weeks on business – the first major trip I’ve taken all year. As you know, I haven’t wanted to leave Sheila’s side, so this was a tough trip for both of us.

And more importantly, for the past month I’ve been enjoying the sense of normalcy that’s escaped us since January. Sheila has been relatively pain free and the side effects from the new drug(s) have been very mild. She smiles and laughs a lot. So that’s very nice.

We saw Dr. B yesterday and I didn’t like going back after a month break. (At least a break for me. Sheila’s was there while I was in China to get the infusion treatment to help her bones fight the tumors. It wasn’t a pleasant experience and my thanks goes out to Susan W. for being with Sheila and helping her through it.)

So being back at Thornton was a bit of a cold splash in the face. A reminder that something insidious is still very much a part of our life.

My concern is that Sheila’s lost about 7 pounds. That’s a lot for her. She’s thin to begin with so weight loss is not a good thing for her, health-wise. Her appetite is all over the place, mostly down. So I’ll have to go back to cooking more. I see a big pasta meal in her future this weekend.

I don’t have much more to say today. I’m anxious and tense. I’m worry about her all the time. I love her so much and desperately want her to get better.

Leave a Reply

Categories

