Posted by: Ken Wheatley | August 20, 2009

Biopsy Aftermath

The biopsy process went better than expected. The valium and headset with music contributed to attenuating the impact.

Dr. Tran took about 12 or so samples. I stopped counting after 8. The “worse” part was the injection. But I’ve had dental work done that hurt far more. I could then feel him moving the instruments around and poking at the prostate, but it wasn’t that bad. Not that I would want to go through it again.

He said that I’ll get the results within 7 days. He’s leaving on vacation this weekend, so he’s hoping to get something back by tomorrow because he’s like to know as well, but I’m not expecting anything until next week. One of his assistants will call me.

Steve, Sheila, and Sybie went with me. Sheila couldn’t stay in the room with me, so she sat right outside the door. When I got home I was pretty tired and in some pain, so even though Sheila wasn’t feeling well, against my protests she got me into bed, got me something to drink, crawled into bed and rubbed my back and my hands and feet to put me to sleep. It worked. I’m like a cat or dog when it comes to that stuff. 

She stayed with me, cuddled-up to my back or side and ultimately fell asleep laying against me. What a sweetie.

By last night I was feeling much better and went to work today.

Her last radiation is tomorrow, and we meet with the radiation oncologist. If all is well, she’ll start chemo – Alimpta – on Saturday at noon. She’s really looking forward to it.

Tonight she and some of her girlfriends and Sybie are all going to a movie (“Julie and Julia”) and dinner. They’ve been planning a girls night out for awhile, but now there’s more urgency to not put things off.

So now we sit and wait for the call.

Responses

  1. I am glad you both are having a better day!! You deserve it. Ken, you are doing a great job.


Leave a Reply

Categories

