Posted by: Ken Wheatley | November 25, 2009

Pre-Op Prep

Met with the nurse today that will be at my surgery on Monday to go over the medical history, did the EKG, and blood work for type and match. I’ll meet the anesthesiologist bright and early Monday morning at 6am, or he may call on Sunday night.

Feeling well other than the cough and some chest congestion. Shouldn’t be a factor. Of course, a bit apprehensive about the days after the surgery, but not much I can do but go through it. I’ll mentally focus on the fact that a month from now I’ll be much better and this will all be behind me.

Going over to Jim and Nancy’s tomorrow for turkey day. Norma is going to stop by on Saturday for a visit. And I’ll see Steve and Joni for dinner on Saturday, and Gordon on Sunday for breakfast and our last motorcycle ride for awhile.

 

Responses

  1. Thanks for the update on your surgery. Wishing you the best on Monday.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Thanks Darlene. I was thinking of you earlier this evening, so it’s nice to see the message from you. I hope you and Tim have a good Thanksgiving as well. Take care,Ken

  3. I’ll be thinking happy and healthy thoughts for you Ken.

  4. Goodluck, I wish you all the luck for a speedy and total recovery, and I will look forward to a positive update post surgery.

    Take care
    Tina

  5. Oh my god enjoyed reading this post. I submitted your feed to my google reader.

  6. Hi Ken,

    Elliot and I have continued to follow your blog and we think of you often as you navigate life without Sheila being right there beside you. Know that you are thought of often and that we wish you well in your upcoming surgery.

    Debbie and Elliot

  7. Thanks Heather…

  8. Thanks Tina…

  9. Thanks Debbie and Elliot. They’re going to let me wear her wedding ring on my pinky finger next to my wedding band, so she’ll literally be there in the OR with me for good luck.

  10. Stay positive and focused on the end game… HEALTH! It’s just around the corner now… you can do it!

    Will be thinking of you and praying for your speedy recovery.

    I truly believe Sheila will be w/ you every step of the way too (ring or not). You are never alone; that kind of love just never dies.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend fully!!! Even in the rain… 🙂

  11. stay strong, ken………. and like you said….one month and you’ll come out of the gate where life awaits……amen.
    i will contact you soon
    and please let me help you in any way…greek chicken? anything. i will be happy to bring you some and if your up to it….we can chat that chat
    that is due…cool?
    hang in and love to you, monica

  12. Thanks Stefanie. Loved sleeping in this morning with the rain hitting the skylights. Sheila would have liked it too.

  13. Ken, sending thoughts your way for a speedy recovery.
    Love,
    Stephanie

  14. Its Tuesday- you have made it through We hope you are rallying around and all went well. Look forward to hearing progress reports. We send our love, prayers and thoughts for your recovery. Dawn and Al


Leave a Reply

Categories

