Posted by: Ken Wheatley | December 12, 2009

Making Progress

The pain from the big incision has finally subsided, although not to the point that I can sleep on the right side yet. I learned that the hard way a few times now that I’m able to sleep in my own bed instead of the couch. And sleeping on my stomach is out of the question. So as a result I’m sleeping in two hour blocks and get woken up when I turn the wrong way.

But at least during the day it doesn’t hurt as bad as it was earlier in the week.

Tammy flew home today. Always hard seeing her leave. She took good care of me for the week that she was here.

Other than a visit earlier this week from some of my staff – Kimber, Scott, Frank and Aussie Vanna (one of the nicknames for my Australia executive assistant), the parade of visitors have all come to an end and the house is quiet once again. I am having my  staff and their significant others (about 12 people) over to the house on Saturday (about 12 hours from now, actually) for dinner. I’ve never done this before, (cooked for so many) so it should be an experience. Where’s Ed Wallace when I need him! 🙂 I’m fixing my specialty – pasta with my special spaghetti sauce, and of course Mama Bella garlic toast for the clan. Yummy…

In three days it’ll be three months since Sheila passed away. Saying she’s died is still rare for me to say. “Passed away” sounds more…mmm, benign.

To cope better, I’ve had to make some mental adjustments because I can’t keep dwelling in the state of mind that I’ve been up until now. I’m coming to terms with the fact that Sheila won’t be coming back. I don’t have a life with her anymore, as far as doing things together. She’s clearly with me in my thoughts everyday, but one thing the past two years taught us – and many of you have commented on – is that there’s a lot of life to live. I don’t know what Sheila would have done if I passed away before her. I talk to her asking for her guidance, but so far nothing is smacking me in the middle of the head. Time will reveal the path forward.

Responses

  1. feel better..ken…….you sound pretty darn good!

    enjoy the dinner you are making and it sounds
    yummy………….i am sure your staff will love it.!

    you know to call…….

    love, mo


Leave a Reply

Categories

