Posted by: Ken Wheatley | December 25, 2009

Thank you

On this night, the eve of another Christmas, I want to take this opportunity to thank all who have been with Sheila and me, physically and otherwise, throughout this most difficult year. It certainly didn’t end as we would have craved, but it’s ending nonetheless. And the journey would have been profoundly more difficult if not for the friendship, love, and seemingly endless compassion many of you lavished on us.

The house is deathly quiet tonight, and needless to say there’s a somberness to this season. I miss Sheila most during these days, but I’m getting better at coping with it.

Tomorrow, I’ll bounce around the house until the mid-afternoon when I head over to Steve and Joni’s for dinner and watching the Charger game. On Saturday morning Stephanie and Kevin, a niece and nephew of Sheila’s, will be stopping by for a visit. I need help with righting a tree that was blown over in the recent storms, and Stephanie wants to look through Sheila’s recipes. It’ll be good to see them.

Well, I wish all of you a joyful time on Christmas with your families and for all of us, an uneventful but very happy new year.

Responses

  1. take care and kniow that my christmas day didnt go without thoughts of both you and sheila, take care of you. 🙂

    Tina

  2. This last year has been quite a tough one, as you know all too well. I often think back on times I had with Sheila wishing I had just one more. I hope she knew how impossible it would be for any of who loved her to every forget her and how often she is on your minds.
    I am very greatful that you continue to keep updating everyone on this blog. I often get comfort just reading posts Sheila did and looking at the pictures you have posted. It is a connection to Sheila and I really appreciate having that

    It sounds like your feeling better and I certainly hope that is the case. I hope you have a Merry Christmas!.I know Sheila would want you to happy, and healthy. Take care

  3. ken…..thank you.thank you for continuing this blog.
    yes, we loved sheila….but, we also loved who sheila loved..YOU!

    merry christmas………….take care………..stay connected………….you have us as your “family” forever.!!!

    love, mo

  4. On this eve of the New Year 2010, I look out at a bleak white canvas of newly-fallen snow and something profound called me to think of you, and my dear Sheila. I imagine it is a lonely and awkward spot for you to be in without your love this eve of the new year. But I know she is there to surround you with hugs and loving spirit to ensure the blessings of a new year filled with hope. ‘Cause you know she would want it that way for you. Thinking of you Ken, with much love. Kathi

  5. Ken,
    Since leaving Sony in June, I have been out of touch with you. Just logged onto LinkedIn and found your wonderful web site. I’m sorry I wasn’t around during the past 4-5 months to offer any support you may have needed. Sheila is now pain free, flying with the angels and watching over you. I am very happy your personal cancer challenge is over. Change is always difficult and scary, but as I found out after leaving Sony, when one door closes, another opens with new and exciting adventures. I hope 2010 brings you much deserved happiness.
    Pattie

  6. Thanks for writing, Pattie. I’m glad you landed on your feet, and it’s good to know there can be a good life after Sony. And no worries about not staying in touch initially. You had a lot on your plate with the transition and all. But I’m glad you’re back.

  7. Thanks Kathi. It was a quiet, slightly weird holiday. Of course, Sheila’s presence, smile, and laugh was sorely missed. Dealing with the surgical recovery actually was good timing as it took my mind off things for a bit.

  8. Thanks Darlene. I’ve had my doubts about continuing the blog in its current form. But I’m glad you find a benefit to what I write and the connection to Sheila that it may provide. I think of her everyday, several times a day, so she will never disappear as long as I’m alive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

