Posted by: Ken Wheatley | July 23, 2010

Ten Months

I’ve been in Kauai the past 8 days. First real break/vacation in a very long time. Hiked a lot (at least 16 miles in the mountains), did some kayaking and a bunch of other things. Thought of Sheila a lot of course. It’s inescapable, but more manageable than the earlier months.

Coming home today gave me a knot in my chest again. All the memories in the house waiting. Talked with her urn about the trip. She would have liked the island. It was on our list of places to visit.

The temperatures in San Diego have been unusually cool, so I hadn’t thought about our air conditioning ritual until today. When I was walking down the hall towards the bedroom thinking about how warm the house was, I immediately remembered how ever year I’d have to climb into the attic to flush the drainage line so the condensation water wouldn’t back-up and overflow onto the ceiling. Sheila would boil water and hand it up to me with a funnel so I could flush the line with it. She’s go into the master bathroom and sit on the floor in front of the sink to watch the disconnected drainage hose and call out to me when the line ran clear. I had forgotten about all that. It’s the little things.

I stopped at the butcher on the way home. Haven’t seen this particular guy in several months it seems. He asked how I was doing. And commented how weird it was to see me without Sheila. He said we were always together, and he just got used to always seeing us together, whether in his store, or at Stater Brothers, the grocery store. We were inseparable.

The planning for the tennis tournment is coming along. We’ve had our first players sign-up. Only need 78 more. The 2nd scheduled volunteer meeting is this Sunday at 11. I think only Steve, Joni and possibly Gordon are showing up. Haven’t heard from Kevin and Heather or Monica. Mary is busy with Mark, and Nancy and Jim are boating over to Catalina.

I miss you, Sheila. Everyday, several times a day, I wish you were here. Love you…

Responses

  1. Hi I am glad you had a good break 🙂

  2. Thanks Tina!


Leave a Reply

Categories

