Posted by: Ken Wheatley | June 23, 2011

3rd Wedding Anniversary, 21 Months, Woo Who Song, Marina Park

Yesterday, three years ago, Sheila walked down the aisle on a very hot and humid day in Point Loma to become my wife. She looked soooo beautiful. So happy. And I’ll never forget the look on her face as her eyes searched for mine when she rounded the corner. Beautiful day, beautiful memories.

I’d been off my mark early last week without knowing exactly why, and then I checked the calendar, and immediately knew the cause. Last Wednesday, the 15th, was the 21 month mark since Sheila passed. I find that, even without knowing what day it is, I start to get unsettled a day or two before the 15th of the month.

Ironically, I was having lunch at Joe’s Crab Shack across from the San Diego Convention Center. The last time I ate there was with Sheila.

I was sitting at a table, alone, across from the booth where we last sat. The booth, and the table, look out at San Diego Bay. Beautiful view.

Part way through the meal, the Woo Who song that always made Sheila crack up giggling and smiling came on. It always makes me smile recalling how happy the song made her feel. For some reason she really got a kick out of the Woo Who verse and would sing along while bobbing her head to the beat.

The place where we had the pivotal discussion about whether we should start dating each other happened at the Embarcadero Marine Park next door to the restaurant. I’m so glad we did.

Happy 3rd Anniversary, Sheila. I love you!

Responses

  1. I still feel your love for Sheila as you continue to write your thoughts of your
    memories. thank you for these…i cherish them.

    monica


Leave a Reply

Categories

